Readings: 1Q84 (finished)

I finished reading this epically long novel about two weeks ago. *runs victory lap*

I wrote a very brief review of the book on my Goodreads account, and I also wanted to paste it on here just for the sake of continuing my monologue on the book:

I seriously think that the best part of the book was the last 10 percent. Oddly enough, the book drew me in and despite its snail-pace development, I made it to the end. At 900 plus pages, Murakami certainly takes his time in developing his characters and leisurely builds up events that actually mean something. Part mystery and part fantasy, the combination is an interesting exploration of reality and non-reality. How do we know that the world we live in and the things we see and experience are real? This book ponders on this thought amid a love-story that lacks … love. There is no build-up for the attraction between Aomame and Tengo. They just inherently love each other and dream about each other romantically and sexually over the last 20 years of their lives. Believable? I think not.

Overall, I did not enjoy reading 1Q84 as much most people did, and the book is much too long to warrant a re-read. Sorry, Murakami.

Leave a Reply

