Reading Resumes (verb)!

I’ve been starting to read some books again on my ride to and from work. For a while I have been pretty exhausted in the mornings and so haven’t been keeping up my readings. Two books I am currently making progress in: A User’s Guide to the Brain by Dr. John J. Ratey and Inferno by Dan Brown. Can you tell I’m trying to be scholarly and have some fun at the same time? šŸ™‚

A User’s Guide to the Brain first caught by attention at the now-closed Borders bookstore because of its witty title. Of course everyone uses a brain, hence, naturally, everyone should read this book! I’m only on chapter two so far – past the chapter on development and now onto perception. The chapter on development covered the basics of what I’ve learned in my developmental psychology course – neurons pruning, brain plasticity, the brain’s great ability to learn and continue changing even through adulthood. It’s all great stuff. The chapter on Perception begins with an interesting story about a young girl with vision problems that wasn’t detected until her teen years. Perception is such a subjective matter that she never realized that the way she see things are drastically different from “normal” people. Instead, everyone thought she had mental issues. It’s scary how we trust the way we see things to be how other people perceive the world.

I’m a huge fan of Dan Brown’s work. I love the suspense and the use of art history as his main story environment. When Inferno rolled out, I was ecstatic to get the book in my hands. Reading his series about Robert Langdon solidifies my desire to visit Europe someday, particularly Italy. I’m 40% into Inferno (as measure by my Kindle Reader) and am totally engrossed in the crazy adventure. Somehow, this story is more of a mystery to me than the other books (Angels and Demons, The Da Vinci Code, and The Lost Symbol). Maybe it has to do with Langdon not knowing what is going on either that makes it so easy to just follow him along in his quest to find out what happened to him and what will happen. The overarching plot reminds me a lot of the Bourne Identity movies.

Leave a Reply

