Readings: 1Q84

Image

Cover of 1Q84 found on npr.org

I’ve started reading 1Q84 about 3 months ago. The book is by Haruki Murakami. I am now about 91% done, according to my Kindle. Here’s an excerpt:

Ushikawa kept up his surveillance until eleven. He gave a big yawn and called it a day. After he brushed his teeth, he stuck out his tongue and looked at it in the mirror. It had been a while since he had examined his tongue. Something like moss was growing on it, a light green, lie real moss. He examined this moss carefully under the light. It was disturbing. The moss adhered to his entire tongue and didn’t look like it would come off easily. If I keep up like this, he thought, I’m going to turn into a Moss Monster. Starting with my tongue, green moss will spread here and there on my skin, like the shell of a turtle that lives in a swamp. The very though was disheartening.

He sighed, and in a voiceless voice decided to stop worrying about his tongue. He turned off the light, slowly undressed in the dark, and snuggled into his sleeping bag. He unzipped the bag and curled up like a bug.

My face scrunched up while reading this passage, and I unconsciously verbalized a big “EWWW”. What did I get myself into? The book is getting weirder by the page, and yet… hardly any development. The big events of the book come every 40 some pages (exaggeration), and I’m afraid I’ve already exhausted the key points of the book. The pacing  is not what I’m used to, as I like books that build up and keeps me on the edge of my seat. I admittedly cannot wait to finish up this book and move on.

2 thoughts on “Readings: 1Q84

  1. DoingDewey says:

    I’m planning on starting 1Q84 in the near future, but I have to admit that the sheer size of it does make a little apprehensive. Who knows how long it will take? And how I can I possibly keep up with blogging while I’m involved in one book for so long? Hopefully it will suck me in and go quickly. Good luck finishing it!

    • kaileyoppi says:

      It took me roughly 3 months to get through the whole book. I read some twenty or so pages a day on my commute to and from work. I hope you do keep a blog as your read it! It’ll be interesting to see other people’s views on this book as they are progressing through it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

