Red Bean Mochi Cake

Tomorrow is the day where I have to impress some Christmas guests. How should I go about doing that?

With some mochi cake, of course!

I’ve been wanting to do some baking for a while. Now that the holidays are here and there will be lots of people to be my guinea pig, I am going to venture out a little and try this recipe I found. (The mochi cake idea was inspired by a coworker who made a delicious blueberry mochi cake and gave it to me as a yummy Xmas gift.)

I found this recipe from a fellow WordPress blogger, rightfully named, The Blissful Baker. I hope s/he will not mind my posting this. In any case, I name thee, Blissful Baker, as the rightful owner. *bows*

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. sweet/glutinous rice flour (Mochiko)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups nonfat milk
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 cup adzuki (sweet red bean) paste

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and generously grease two 9×5 inch loaf pans, or one 13×9 inch baking pan.

2. In a large bowl, mix sweet rice flour, eggs, vegetable oil, milk, and sugar until smooth. Stir in red bean paste.

3. Pour mixture into prepared loaf pans and bake in preheated oven for 45-60 minutes, or until knife inserted in center comes out clean.

4. Cool to room temperature before cutting into slices and serving.

Once finished, it should look like this:

Image

Gotta go soak those red beans now!

One thought on “Red Bean Mochi Cake

Leave a Reply

